Haikyuu!! (First Impressions)

Image

 

Haikyuu!! is finally out and I am loving it! I’d never thought I would watch volleyball anime. This sport has never really been my thing but it’s really cool how it’s Boys’ Volleyball. So I was thinking, “Wow, it’s kind of rare for me to see guys play volleyball so Imma watch it.” And it turned out better than I expected. The first episode was like “WOAH” for me. I didn’t know volleyball could be that exciting cuz I mean I’ve always been terrible at volleyball, always scared of the ball. I just really like it, the first episode was exciting. 

Summary: A chance event triggered Hinata Shouyou’s love for volleyball. His club had no members, but he somehow made it into his first and final middle school match with a team he made at the last minute. He ended up playing against Kageyama Tobio, a superstar player known as “King of the Court” and was sadly defeated. Vowing revenge, Hinata applied to Karasuno High School Volleyball club only to come face-to-face with his hated rival Kageyama.

Image.

Shouyou (orange hair) is energetic and positive and Kageyama looks like the “always pissed off” type so I guess you could say they’d be the kind who hates each other. In the first episode when they did a match, nobody took Shouyou’s team seriously, nobody except Kageyama. I guess everyone in his team besides Shouyou didn’t really know how to play volleyball so their opponents were very laid back. Shouyou shocked Kageyama with his jump and how fast he was. Shouyou’s team lost in the end and the game didn’t last long but it was a good game. I really liked how Shouyou would always dive for the ball and run for it even though there’s no way he could make it. 

Image

Shouyou specializes in jumping to compensate for his lack of height. Honestly, when I saw him he did look like a shrimp but when I saw him jump, I thought he was pretty cool. So right now, he’s my favorite character. I mean look at that pose…. perfection!

So I recommend you guys try watching episode 1. It’s still ongoing of course, it’s only in it’s 1st episode.

Man, sports anime just grabs me and don’t let go. Have you ever felt that way? -R!n

Leave a Reply

